Who has it Harder, Women or Men?

January 12, 2012

Relationships, Uncategorized

It could be argued that man have it the toughest because they typically have the responsibility of making the money and doing the heavy lifting around the house.  If the bills arent paid or there is no food to eat it is the mans fault.  Men are the spiritual leaders in the house and if there is a problem then they are the ones who bear most of the burden to help fix it.  Another thing that men deal with is not being able to show emotion.  In today’s society, that can be a heavy burden that often leads to any number of major health issues.

But in some ways women have it harder because they (some of them) have to juggle a career and manage the house and kids, if they have them.  Women have it harder in the work place too.  It is far more difficult for a woman to advance in her career than a man.  Women have to look good and it takes them longer to do that.  They have to deal with sleazy coworkers or bosses who sexually harass them.

I think that women often go unappreciated in many homes.  I am not married but if I were, I would come home from work and help with dinner, do the dishes with her and help with laundry.  Because I believe it is both our responsibilities and mostly because I would just want to be next to my wife.

I think the women who are married with children have it the hardest.   They end up putting their husbands and kids first and often let their personal dreams/aspirations fall by the wayside.

So without really making a decision on who I think has it harder, I would like to hear your thoughts on it.

Who has it harder, women or men?  Wonder if this will be a vote along gender lines.

, , , , , , , ,

7 Comments on “Who has it Harder, Women or Men?”

  1. Maggie Says:

    I might be biased, but I think women have it harder. There’s so much pressure in society for a woman to do it all – have a career and raise children and be a perfect wife. It’s just too much…

    Reply

    • Mitchell Says:

      Yes, I agree Maggie. I was watching the movie One Fine Day the other day and felt moved by Michelle Pfeifers character. She was a professional career woman who had only one kid and had to juggle all the stuff on her own. She was a single mom. Thanks for the comment.

      Reply

  2. PCC Advantage Says:

    I think that women definitely have it harder, and the reason is because of what you already stated in your post. Yes, there are careers, family responsibilities, chores, etc. to juggle, but I think it’s difficult for women more so because of the pressure to look good, be positive, be supportive, and mostly because of the sexual harassment (as you already said). Men certainly don’t have to put up with that kind of nonsense nearly as much as women do. As women, we must always have our guard up and be careful in all that we do and say…I don’t think men have to worry about that as much.

    Just my opinion, though. Maybe I’m biased because I’m a woman…who knows? 😉

    Very interesting topic, Mitchell! Great job!

    Reply

  3. Harleyq2 Says:

    I believe that married, working women with children whose husbands are not fully involved have a harder life. These women have to do everything and be everyone. I believe that these days men are avoiding alot of their responsibilities and women enable the low expectation behaviors. I have heard women who will laugh at the idea that their husbands are ever expected to help around the home.

    Reply

  4. Mitchell Says:

    Yeah, women have it harder. Sadly, women in Christian marriages have it hard too. Some of the men misinterpret the bible and treat women as inferior. That is not the heart of God.

    Reply

  5. jcsprenger Says:

    No doubt in my male mind! Women are way stronger than us; just look at the millions of mothers who have had to survive without the man for some reason or other. They work and educate at the same time! Could we do it? I doubt it

    Reply

  6. Bird Says:

    I don’t know about other people, but in my marriage (20 years) it ebbs and flows. There were times it was much harder for me, as I was working and had three kids; but now that they are grown, it seems my husband is having the harder time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

