Do you Boycott?

I don’t march in front of businesses or get involved in “movements” to end something but I do abstain from buying/using products if something they do/have done is morally questionable in my eyes.  Like if a company ran an ad that was offensive to something I value.

When Red Bull ran the ad with Jesus walking on water I decided I would not drink Red Bull any longer.  This is a good thing I might add, these things are NOT healthy.   No, I was not offended, I just decided that since they are gonna poke fun at a certain demographic then they don’t deserve my business.

Just so you know, I don’t get offended.  I know who I am in Christ Jesus and who I am as a person, so hateful words meant to cause harm do not impact me.  I wish more Christians felt this way.  I don’t think its our job to be on the lookout for anything that might be “offensive”.  Christ said that in this world there would be tribulation but were to be of good cheer because He overcame the world (John 16:33).

But I do not like it when a company deliberately demeans Christians and does it so proudly.  It is not so much that the companies make fun of Christ/Christians, but that they completely take them for granted.  In the U.S. alone I think close to 90% of people profess to be Christians.  Now I know this is more like a political label than a set of ideals but there are still a lot of us.  And to blatantly seek to demean them is just silly.  It certainly isn’t nice and quite frankly, its bad business.

So, have you ever decided not to buy something or refrain from using a service because of moral conflict?

And have you ever written letters/emails to companies voicing your opinion about something such as an advertisement you thought was offensive?

, , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments on “Do you Boycott?”

  1. Maggie Says:

    I don’t drink Red Bull… that stuff is gross. But that reminds me of how I feel like I ought to quit watching Family Guy since they make fun of Christianity/Catholicism/Jesus/God all the time. It just doesn’t sit well with me… but Family Guy makes fun of everything and everyone, so…

    Reply

    • Mitchell Says:

      Hi Maggie, yeah I forgot to mention movies and tv shows to list. I used to watch South Park even though I know Christ would not like the language they use. But I do not now because of their blatant attack on Christianity. Same goes for Family Guy.

      I also will try not to watch movies with actors that are outspoken in the political realm. If they are promoting things I am against, I don’t want to support them.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Reply

  2. PCC Advantage Says:

    I’ve boycotted a KFC before because they told me I had to pay an extra $1.27 for white meat, even though they mentioned nothing about it in their marketing adverts.

    That boycott lasted for 16 years.

    So, as for Red Bull mocking Christianity, I can easily boycott them for a lifetime. Haha!

    Very interesting post, Mitchell!

    Reply

    • Mitchell Says:

      Hi Christy, hmm, I did not know about the extra cost for white meat. I don’t eat at KFC much, is that a Canadian thing maybe? But yeah, its not really fair to do that without telling you. I hate when companies try to be sneaking like that.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

